Skip to content
August 20, 2012 / Michael E. Grasso

Mindless Poetry

I have always been a fan of poetry that really ignites feelings and emotions.  I often will read it and wonder what the author was really thinking at the time of writing it.  Often what seems too many as mindless poetry holds deep emotional meaning to the author.   With that said I have taken some time off and will try to post what is really on my mind from time to time.  The truth is that I have been experiencing some very strong spiritual warfare as I try to fight it and keep my faith strong I wrote this poem.  I hope it will help you understand my mindset and give you a better look into my personal struggles.  Let’s be real.

Growing growing more unsure

Standing staring at the door

Do I stay, or simply walk away

Either way I’m forced to choose

Either way it’s win or lose

Though I know I have freewill

I feel as though my heart is still

Could it be this calm is real

Is this true love I feel

Yet I stand here more unsure

Feeling emotions I never felt before

Am I just lost, I ask myself

Looking back at your picture on my shelf

Is what has passed truly gone

I thought I was fine I thought I was strong

Why do I hold on to hope

When I feel that hope is lost

It is not worth this emotional cost

The door before me opens wide

The walls around me fall and there is no place to hide

Still feeling very unsure

Growing more insecure

Nothing but an open door

What do I choose

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rigel Ordinario / Aug 20 2012 10:15 AM

    I agree. There are a thousand different ways to interpret one poem, yet one has to wonder what was going through the poet’s mind. Often we may never know, and that is the beauty of it.

    You expressed yourself so well in your poem.

    • Michael Blaze / Aug 20 2012 10:41 AM

      Thank you, I find poetry a great way to let others in without too much detail. This poem conveys a few struggles I am currently facing, but in all of them it comes down to the choice I have to make. Thank you again for reading and commenting.

Leave a comment